Welcome to Your Branding, we have over 20 years of expertise

National Office

Thornhill Office Park │Building 20│
94 Bekker Road | Vorna Valley | Midrand │ 0002


+27 (0) 10 001 8500

Newly elected National Legal Practice Council begin tenure on 01 November 2021

The Legal Practice Council (LPC), a statutory body responsible for regulating the affairs of the legal profession, announces a new 23 member Council  to take office for a term of 3 years, commencing  on 01 November 2021.

Established in November 2018, this is the second Council that is being appointed to regulate the South African legal profession. “The appointments followed a rigorous nominations and voting process as stipulated in the Regulations and appointments of additional members designated as per the provisions of Section 7 of the Legal Practice Act. Council consists of:

16 members elected by practising legal practitioners ,three (3) members are designated by the Minister of Justice and Correctional Services, Honourable Ronald Lamola and one (1) member each from Legal Aid South Africa, the Legal Practitioners Fidelity Fund(LPFF), Deans of Law and Teachers of Law .   explains Charity Nzuza (Executive Officer of the LPC).

“The newly appointed Council will guide LPC National and provincial structures to deliver on its mandate to protect the interests of the public, set norms and standards for the legal profession, facilitate the admission and enrolment of legal practitioners as well as regulating the professional and ethical conduct of all legal practitioners and candidate legal practitioners,” adds Nzuza.

The newly appointed Council members are:

  1. Ms Janine Myburgh – Chairperson(attorney)
  2. Advocate Kennedy Tsatsawane SC – Deputy Chairperson
  3. Ms Kathleen Matolo-Dlepu – Executive Committee member(attorney)
  4. Mr Miles Carter – Executive Committee member(attorney)
  5. Mr Priyesh Daya – Executive Committee member(attorney)
  6. Mr Brenton Joseph SC – Executive Committee
  7. Mr Pritzman Busani Mabunda – Executive Committee (attorney and LPFF designate)
  8. Ms Anthea Platt SC – (Minister’s designate)
  9. Mr Thulane Kgomo – (attorney and Minister’s designate)
  10. Ms Reghana Tulk(advocate) – Minister’s designate
  11. Prof Danwood Chirwa – (Deans of Law designate)
  12. Mr Clement Marumoagae – (attorney and Teachers of Law designate)
  13. Mr Dick Khubana – (Legal Aid SA designate)
  14. Ms Noxolo Maduba-Silevu (attorney)
  15. Ms Nolitha Jali (attorney)
  16. Mr Lucian Edwin Companie (attorney)
  17. Dr Llewelyn Gray Curlewis (attorney)
  18. Ms Paula De Azevedo (attorney)
  19. Mr Seopi Makhafola (attorney)
  20. Ms Elizabeth Baloyi-Mere SC
  21. Ms Kameshni Pillay SC
  22. Ms Margaretha Engelbrecht SC
  23. Mr Craig Watt-Pringle SC

“We thank the outgoing Council and commend them for the sterling work done over the last three years. They have set the LPC on the right footing and the organisation will continue to grow from strength to strength. We also extend a warm welcome to our new Council and wish them well in their three-year tenure,” concludes Nzuza.

About Legal Practice Council

The Legal Practice Council is a national, statutory body established in terms of section 4 of the Legal Practice Act, No 28 of 2014. The Legal Practice Council and its Provincial Councils regulate the affairs of and exercise jurisdiction over all legal practitioners (attorneys and advocates) and candidate legal practitioners.

Download PDF Here