NATIONAL OFFICE Building 10 Riverview Office Park 100 River View Park Street Halfway Gardens Midrand 1685 Tel: 010 001 8500



NOTICE TO LEGAL PRACTITIONERS

07 November 2024

Dear Legal Practitioners,

Election of the LPC Executive Committee, Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson

We extend our sincere gratitude to all legal practitioners who participated in the election of the third Council for the Legal Practice Council (LPC) under section 7(1)(a) of the Legal Practice Act 28 of 2014 (the Act). The election, conducted in line with regulation 2 of the LPC Regulations, facilitated the appointment of 16 practicing legal practitioners to serve on the Council. These members, alongside additional designated professionals under sections 7(1)(b) to 7(1)(e) of the Act, will serve a three-year term from 1 November 2024 to 31 October 2027.

As a reminder, the LPC's National Council consists of 23 members representing a diverse and dedicated group of professionals:

- 16 members elected by practising legal practitioners.
- 3 members designated by the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development.
- 2 members designated by Deans of Law and Teachers of Law.
- A representative from Legal Aid South Africa.
- A representative from the Legal Practitioners Fidelity Fund(LPFF).

On 1 November 2024, the newly appointed Council convened for its induction and inaugural meeting. One of the primary objectives of this meeting was to elect the Executive Committee of the Council in terms of section 20 of the Act and appoint office bearers, including the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson, as per section 9 of the Act.

We are pleased to announce the elected office bearers in terms of section 9 of the Act:

- Advocate Pule Seleka SC Chairperson
- Dr. Llewelyn Gray Curlewis Deputy Chairperson

The elected Executive Committee Members of the Council, in accordance with section 20 of the Act, include:

- 1. Advocate Pule Seleka SC Chairperson
- 2. Dr Llewelyn Gray Curlewis Deputy Chairperson
- 3. Mr Sello Phajane
- 4. Advocate Craig Watt-Pringle SC

- 5. Mr Martus De Wet
- 6. Ms Nonduduzo Khanyile
- 7. Advocate Matshoge Chabedi SC

The other members of the Council are:

- 8. Advocate Margaretha Engelbrecht SC
- 9. Advocate Kennedy Tsatsawane SC
- 10. Mr Thulane Kgomo
- 11. Ms Paula De Azevedo
- 12. Mr Director Makhafola
- 13. Advocate Shandukani Muthungulu- Ugoda
- 14. Mr Umesh Jivan
- 15. Mr Popela Maake
- 16. Ms Sunita Townsend
- 17. Ms Puleng Keetse
- 18. Ms Pooja Dela
- 19. Mr Michael Ramaphosa
- 20. Advocate Kgomotso Nhlapo Merabe
- 21. Dr Lynn Biggs
- 22. Mr Zincedile Tiya
- 23. Advocate Mokgerwa Makoti

We look forward to a productive term under the leadership of this newly elected Council and thank you once again for your participation and commitment to upholding the standards of our profession.

Kind regards

Legal Practice Council